Sanlam Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism: Enter today!

Financial journalists working across Africa have until February 28 to submit their work for the Sanlam Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism.

The awards recognise the best financial reporting by journalists based in Africa who have published exceptional work in print, online and broadcast between January 1 and December 31, 2020.

The 2020 awards will re-introduce broadcast financial journalism in the Audio (traditional and online radio and podcasts) and Television/Video formats.

For the Audio field, this includes news and feature reporting published on traditional and online radio, as well as podcasts. For Television, submitted work should be news and feature reporting presented on the traditional television medium or videos on new media platforms.

Journalists from outside South Africa can submit their broadcast story entries for the Africa Growth Story topic only. The African Growth Story category seeks to highlight continental growth such as that of infrastructure development and economic progress.

The 2019 African Growth Story winner was Tom Collins from African Business Magazine in Kenya. Nigerian journalist Caleb Ojewale was first runner-up and the second runners-up prize was jointly awarded to Isaac Anyaogu from Nigeria and Omar Mohammed from Kenya.

For 2019, the Africa Growth Story category received 32 entries from Botswana, Nigeria, Kenya, Zambia, Uganda, Zimbabwe, Malawi, Rwanda, Tanzania and South Africa.

South African journalists are also invited to submit work for the following categories: Business/Companies, Economy, Financial Markets and Consumer Financial Education.

Claire Bisseker from South Africa won the coveted Sanlam Financial Journalist of The Year award in 2019, making it the third time she won the prestigious award. The other special awards, honoured at the discretion of the judging panel, include the Best Newcomer and Lifetime Achievement Awards.

The 2019 judging panel pulled together continental experience and diversity bringing together judges from Botswana, Kenya, South Africa and Nigeria. Nixon Kariithi was the convening judge.

For more information about eligibility, criteria and the entry submission process for the awards, click here.

76 views0 comments