Celebrating the African Growth Story: Enter today!

Updated: Feb 14, 2020

African financial journalists are being urged to submit their African Growth Story entries for the 2019 Sanlam Financial Journalist of the Year Awards ahead of the deadline later this month.

Now in its 45th year, the awards recognise the best financial reporting by reporters based in Africa and who are publishing or broadcasting commendable journalism on the continent.

The closing date for submitting entries is 28 February 2020 via Sanlam’s website.


The awards attract keen interest from journalists across the continent. In 2018, 78 journalists representing 58 media organisations submitted 97 entries.

Previous winners of the African Growth Story category include Isaac Anyaogu of Business Day in Nigeria (2018), Dominic Omondi of The Standard newspaper in Kenya (2017), and Ancillar Mangena of CNBC Africa in South Africa (2016).

Previous winners of the Financial Journalist of the Year Award include Rob Rose, editor of Financial Mail (2018), former deputy editor of Financial Mail Sikonathi Mantshantsha (2017), and Susan Comrie of AmaBhungane (2016).

The African Growth Story category was first introduced by Sanlam in 2013 in order to recognise the significance of business and investment on the continent.

Entries must focus on the growth of the continent in terms of investment, infrastructure development, economic progress, and related topics. Stories should incorporate a continental outlook. The category is open to journalists based in Africa, who publish and/or broadcast their work on the continent.

The other categories, open to journalists working in print, radio, TV and online media in South Africa, are:

  • Business/Companies

  • Economy

  • Financial Markets

  • Consumer Financial Education

These categories recognise the best financial journalists who produced compelling stories between 1 January and 30 December 2019.

The Special Awards recognise journalists based on the discretion of the judging panel, which exercises a nomination and rigorous evaluation process. The special awards are:

  • Best Newcomer

  • Lifetime Achievement

  • Sanlam Financial Journalist of the Year.

For more information, click here.

147 views0 comments